RFP for Maurice and Libbey Bathhouses
Requests for Proposals for the Maurice and Libbey Bathhouses are being accepted from 7/7/14 to 1/30/15. Click on the "Management" link in the left column for more information.
Hot Springs National Park regrets to announce that the elevator in the Fordyce Visitor Center is closed for maintenance. The upper and lower levels are accessible only by stairways. The elevator will be placed back into service in about 4 to 6 weeks.
Hot Springs area EAST Labs
Running parallel with Central Avenue and Bathhouse Row from Reserve Street to Fountain Street, the half-mile Grand Promenade offers views of historic downtown Hot Springs, the Arlington Lawn, the hot springs cascade, quartz veins in the sandstone and tufa cliffs. The brick promenade has been a National Recreation Trail since 1982. It is a must-see for all visitors.
The north end passes the site of the first superintendent’s residence, demolished in 1958. The south entrance is below the impressive Hot Springs Rehabilitation Center. Built in 1933 as the second Army-Navy hospital, it has been used by the state for over 40 years.
The Grand Promenade started as part of a Public Works Administration project in the 1930s and was completed in 1957. Several park trails begin and end from the Grand Promenade.
Did You Know?
Hot Springs, Arkansas, was the premier baseball spring training site from the 1880s-1940s. The Chicago White Stockings, Cincinnati Reds, Pittsburgh Pirates, Boston Red Sox and others came to soothe their aching muscles at the many bathhouses using Hot Springs National Park water.