|The Church of the Messiah [Unitarian], 5261 Enright, St. Louis, Missouri, is listed as a contributing resource in the Mount Cabanne/Raymond Place Historic District (NR 9/13/2002) but is also individually eligible under CRITERION C, and is locally significant in the areas of ARCHITECTURE and ART. Constructed in 1907 to designs of John Lawrence Mauran, the small Gothic Revival style church is one of St. Louis's outstanding examples of a church design that achieves architectural excellence on a modest budget, and one that is distinctly set apart from other churches in St. Louis by an extraordinary group of stained glass memorial windows manufactured in 1879 by the London studio of designer Daniel Cottier (1838-1891), an internationally renowned artist. In 1906, these windows were removed from the Unitarians' former church building (erected 1879-80; demolished, 1987) and reinstalled as the principal architectural embellishment in Mauran's new church where the architect created an architectural setting, blending Gothic motifs and Arts & Crafts sensitivity to materials, as a foil for displaying the sumptuous color harmonies and forms exhibited in the Cottier windows. The Church of the Messiah windows are the only glass by Cottier found in the Midwest, and are a unique example - in St. Louis of a historic church building with a near-complete program of glazing that was removed from an older building for reuse in a new design. The period of significance is 1907, the date of construction.