on-line book icon



table of contents





JAMES TOWNE
In the Words of Contemporaries
NPS logo


kiln
Tile and Brick Kiln
In September 1941 this seventeenth century tile and brick kiln was uncovered at Jamestown. In this kiln building materials for the town were made.


17. THE VIRGINIA CENSUS OF 1625

IN the winter of 1624/1625 a census was taken for Virginia. This census included population, buildings, provisions, livestock, and armaments. It showed that at "James Cittie," not including the island outside of the town, there were 124 persons (adults, children, servants, and Negroes), 22 houses, 3 stores, and a church. There were provisions of corn, fish, peas, beans, and meal, and 9 boats, one of them a barque of 40 tons. The town could boast of 181 cattle, 1 horse, 209 swine, and 121 goats. Arms and ammunition included 4 pieces of mounted ordnance, 92 small arms, 60 swords, 27 "Armours," 79 coats of mail, and 16 quilted coats. A section from the "James Citty" muster reads:

James Citty

The Muster of the Inhabitants of James Cittie taken the 24TH of January 1624 [1625]

The Muster of Sr. Francis Wyatt KT &c SR Francis Wyatt KT Governor &c. came [to Virginia] in the [Ship] George 1621

Servants

Christopher Cooke aged 25 in the George 1621
Georg Hall aged 13 in the Suply 1620
Jonathan Giles 21 in the Triall 1619
John Matheman 19 in the Jonathan 1619
Jane Davis 24 in the Abigaile 1622

Corne10 barrells
fish4000
Powder20 lbs
Lead and Shott180 lbs
Snaphannee Peecs6
Armours6
Cowes6
Bull1
Yearelings and Calves3
Horse1
breeding Sowes6
Yong Swine14
Dwelling house1
Store1

Belongeing to James Citty
Church1
A Large Court of Guard1
Peecs of Ordnaunee Mounted4
Quilted Coats16
Coates of Male77
the rest dispersed in the Cuntrie

The Virginia Census of 1624/1625.



Next






top of page





History  |   Links to the Past  |   National Park Service  |   Search  |   Contact

Last Modified: Thurs, Sep 11 2003 10:00:00 pm PST
http://www.cr.nps.gov/history/online_books/source/5/sb5r.htm

ParkNet Home