The National Parks:
Index 2009–2011
NPS Logo

Recent actions of the 111th Congress

On March 30, 2009, while this book was in production, the Omnibus Public Land Management Act of 2009 was signed into law. Among its provisions, PL 111-11 authorized nine National Heritage Areas, two waterways within the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System, and four new trails within the National Trails System. New areas are listed below. Changes to existing site names are reflected within this book.

Additional National Heritage Areas

Muscle Shoals National Heritage Area, Alabama
Kenai Mountains-Turnagain Arm National Heritage Area, Alaska
Sangre de Cristo National Heritage Area, Colorado
South Park National Heritage Area, Colorado
Baltimore National Heritage Area, Maryland
Freedom’s Way National Heritage Area, Massachusetts, New Hampshire
Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area, Mississippi
Northern Plains National Heritage Area, North Dakota
Mississippi Hills National Heritage Area, Mississippi

Additional National Wild and Scenic Rivers

Taunton River, Massachusetts
Snake River Headwaters, Wyoming

Additional National Trails

Arizona National Scenic Trail New England National Scenic Trail
Pacific Northwest National Scenic Trail
Washington-Rochambeau Revolutionary Route National Historic Trail

For more information about these recent actions contact the National Park Service Office of Public Affairs 202-208-6843.

<<< Previous <<< Contents>>> Next >>>

Last Updated: 30-July-2009