Lincoln Boyhood
Administrative History
NPS Logo

Lincoln Day Speakers

1926—1932No record
1933Dr. Christopher Coleman Indianapolis Historical Society
1934—1942No record
1943Henry Schricker Governor of Indiana
1946Richard T. James Lt. Governor of Indiana
1947Dr. Ross Lockridge Historian, Indiana University
1948Edward A. Mitchell Eighth District Congressman
1949Ralph Harvey Tenth District Congressman
1950Dean Walker Indiana Superintendent of Public Institutions
1951Homer Capehart United States Senator from Indiana
1952George S. Jones Vice President of Servel, Inc.
1953D. Bailley Merrill Eighth District Congressman
1954No record
1955Charles A. Halleck Second District Congressman
1956Crawford Picker Indiana Secretary of State
1957Curtis Shake Vincennes Judge
1958Louis A. Warren Lincoln Historian, Lincoln Library
1959No record
1960Roy T. Combs and William Koch President, Indiana Lincoln Foundation Owner, Santa Claus Land
1961William F. Dudine Circuit Court Judge
1962Arthur C. Nordhoff Dubois County Historian
1963William Koch Owner, Santa Claus Land
1964Robert Mills Mayor of Boonville
1965Curtis Shake Vincennes Judge
1966Arthur York Lincoln Heritage Trail Commission
1967Robert Cummings Cannelton News Editor
1968George B. Hartzog, Jr. National Park Service, Director
1969James Morlock University of Evansville Professor
1970John Lair Author, Songs Lincoln Loved
1971Don M. Newman Osceola, Indiana, Toastmaster
1972Howard W. Ellis Methodist Minister
1973Thomas D. Brumett Superintendent, North Spencer County Schools
1974Elmer Pruess Spencer County Teacher
1975Robert F. Pollack Methodist Minister
1976"Nancy's Neighbors" (A short play)
1977Otis R. Bowen Governor of Indiana
1978James T. Burnett Lincoln Boyhood Staff Member
1979Wallace B. Graves University of Evansville President
1980Fr. Gavin Barnes, OSB Priest
1981Ross Holland National Park Service Assistant Director
1982Charlotte Baird Lincoln Boyhood Staff Member
1983Mark E. Neely, Jr. Lincoln Historian, Lincoln Library
1984Robert Orr Governor of Indiana
1985Peter Harstad Director, Indiana Historical Society
1986Donald F. Carmony Professor Emeritus of History, Indiana University
1987Ewel Cornett Director, "Young Abe Lincoln" (play)


Profession of Speakers


Historian1933, 1947, 1958, 1962, 1983, 1985, 19867
Politician1943, 1946, 1948, 1949, 1951, 1953, 1955, 1956, 1964, 1977, 198411
Judge1957, 1961, 19653
Businessman1952, 1960, 19633
Educator1950, 1969, 1973, 1974, 19795
Clergyman1972, 1975, 19803
National Park Service1968, 1978, 1981, 19824
Other1966, 1971, 1976, 19874


Sponsors of Lincoln Day Activities

Until 1953Boonville Press Club, Indiana Department of Conservation, and the Indiana Lincoln Union
1955—1958Santa Claus Chamber of Commerce
1960—PresentLincoln Club of Southern Indiana

<<< Previous <<< Contents >>> Next >>>

Last Updated: 25-Jan-2003