Bears are active in Grand Teton
Black and grizzly bears are roaming throughout the park--near roads, trails and in backcountry areas. Hikers and backcountry users are advised to travel in groups of three or more, make noise and carry bear spray. Visitors must stay 100 yards from bears. More »
Multi-use Pathway Closures
Intermittent closures of the park Multi-use Pathway System will occur through mid-October during asphalt sealing and safety improvement work. Pathway sections will reopen as work is completed. Follow the link for a map and more information. More »
Moose-Wilson Road Status
The Moose-Wilson Road between the Death Canyon Road and the Murie Center Road is currently open to all traffic. The road may re-close at any time due to wildlife activity. For current road conditions call 307-739-3682. More »
Summer Speaker Series Continues
Contact: Jackie Skaggs, 307.739.3393
July 29, 2011
A series of special presentations that began in June will continue throughout the month of August in the new auditorium at the Craig Thomas Discovery and Visitor Center. Starting Wednesday, August 3, local residents and park visitors can join a captivating group of speakers to learn about western culture and folk music, climate change and Teton weather, as well as the intriguing story of Sacajawea. All talks are free to the public.
Lectures will be presented by various experts who will share their knowledge and perspectives on a range of topics. The speakers will also lead discussions about Grand Teton National Park's natural and cultural resources. The scheduled August lectures include:
August 9 - 6:30 p.m.
August 17 - 6:30 p.m.
August 22 - 6:30 p.m.
August 24 - 6:30 p.m.
August 30 - 6:30 p.m.
For more information about the lecture series, call the Colter Bay Visitor Center at 307.739.3594, or the Craig Thomas Discovery and Visitor Center at 307.739.3399.
Did You Know?
Did you know that Grand Teton National Park was established in both 1929 and 1950? The original 1929 park protected the mountain peaks and the lakes near the base. The boundaries were later expanded in 1950 to include much of the adjacent valley floor.