• Approximately 1,500 black bears live in the national park.

    Great Smoky Mountains

    National Park NC,TN

Quarantined Counties Listed By State

Updated November, 2014 - The following counties have federal or state quarantines in place which prohibit moving firewood. These quarantines were issued to prevent the spread of emerald ash borer, Asian long-horn beetle, gypsy moth, and thousand cankers disease. Federal and state regulations prohibit visitors from bringing firewood to the park from these counties.

Arkansas - Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Saline, Sevier, Union

Colorado - Boulder

Connecticut - Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven

District of Columbia - all areas within the District are under quarantine

Georgia - Carroll, Clayton, Cobb, Dekalb, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Newton, Rockdale, Walton, Whitfield

Illinois - all counties in the state are under quarantine

Indiana - all counties in the state are under quarantine

Iowa - all counties in the state are under quarantine

Kansas - Johnson, Leavenworth, Wyandotte

Kentucky -all counties in the state are under quarantine

Maryland - Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Carroll, Charles, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George's, St. Mary's, Washington, Baltimore City

Massachusetts - all counties in the state are quarantined

Michigan - all counties are quarantined except Baraga, Dickinson, Gogebic, Iron, Marquette, Menominee and Ontonagon

Missouri - all counties in the state are under quarantine

Minnesota - Cook, Hennepin, Houston, Lake, Olmsted, Ramsey, Winona

New Jersey - all counties in the state are under quarantine

New Hampshire - Hillsborough, Merrimack, Rockingham

New York - Albany, Allegany, Broome, Brooklyn, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Erie, Genesee, Greene, Livingston, Madison, Manhattan, Monroe, Nassau, Niagara, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Staten Island, Steuben, Suffolk, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Wayne, Westchester, Wyoming, Yates, and parts of Fulton, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, counties

North Carolina - Granville, Haywood, Person, Vance

Ohio - all counties in the state are under quarantine

Pennsylvania - all counties in the state are under quarantine

Tennessee - Anderson, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Carter, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke, Davidson, Fentress, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Loudon, Macon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Overton, Pickett, Polk, Putnam, Rhea, Roan, Scott, Sevier, Smith, Sullivan,Unicoi, Union, Washington

Virginia - all counties in the state are under quarantine

West Virginia - all counties in the state are under quarantine

Wisconsin - Brown, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Door, Douglas, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Kenosha, Kewaunee, La Crosse, Lafayette, Manitowoc, Milwaukee, Monroe, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Superior,Trempealeau, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Winnebago

Canada - Provinces of Ontario and Quebec

The states of California and Oregon also have quarantines in effect for Sudden Oak Death syndrome.

Quarantines may be in effect for other insects and diseases not listed here. Please check with your local county agricultural extension agent for a complete listing of quarantines in your area.

Did You Know?