• Campers relaxing at their site

    Greenbelt

    Park Maryland

There are park alerts in effect.
hide Alerts »
  • Tick Alert

    Greenbelt Park has issued a tick alert. Ticks have been spotted on park staff and visitors. Please use precautions such as tick repellant. Click the following for more information on Ticks and tick prevention More »

Invasive Plant Removal days

Participants meet at the Sweetgum Picnic Area at 11:00 a.m. on the first Saturday of each month.

Come and help Greenbelt Park.

Join us each first Saturday of the month to help remove invasive plants from the park. This partnership with the University of Maryland involves identifying and removing different invasive plants in the park. This hands-on volunteer project is going strong thanks to Volunteer Leader Tom Crone.

Thanks to the efforts of volunteers and the University of Maryland students, Greenbelt Park is preserving the park for future generations.

It is not a difficult or dangerous task. Please bring insect and/or tick repellant.

Our volunteer leader will teach and show the invasive plants to be removed. This is time consuming and numerous hands are needed.

Thanks to this project and the many volunteers, Greenbelt Park is a prime example of removing invasives before they can take over and destroy the native plants.
Participants meet at the Sweetgum Picnic Area at 11:00 a.m. on the first Saturday of each month.
Large groups, please call ahead at 301-344-3948.

2014

Saturday January 4
Saturday February 1
Saturday March 1
Saturday April 5
Saturday May 3
Saturday June 7
Saturday July 5
Saturday August 2
Saturday September 6
Saturday October 4
Saturday November 1
Saturday December 6

 
Volunteers removing invasive plants. Come join us every month as we preserve Greenbelt Park for this and future generations
Volunteers removing invasive plants. Come join us every month as we preserve Greenbelt Park for this and future generations.

Did You Know?

a picture of cars and tent trailers in the Laurel Picnic Area

Tents and trailers used the Holly and Laurel Picnic Areas before the Greenbelt Park campground was built. The camping areas in Greenbelt Park, Maryland were constructed in 1965 and 1966 as a part of Mission 66.