Campgrounds Operated by National Park Service
Lees Ferry Campground
Lone Rock Beach Primitive Camping
Stanton Creek, Hite, Dirty Devil and Farley Primitive Camping Areas
Primitive camping is on beach areas or in primitive environments. No designated campsites. $6 per person/per night (not to exceed $12 per vehicle). No reservations.
Campgrounds Operated by the Park's Concessioner
Wahweap Developed Camping
Bullfrog & Halls Crossing Developed Camping
Lake Powell Shoreline Primitive Camping
When planning a camping trip by boat or 4-wheel drive road in Glen Canyon, it is best to buy a map beforehand. These show the side canyons, good hiking spots, points of interest and marinas, explain the navigation system, and may give fishing information.
Colorado River Between the Glen Canyon Dam and Lees Ferry Primitive Camping
Do not boat below the cable downstream from the Lees Ferry launch ramp. There are dangerous rapids below the cable. Downstream waters are restricted. A permit is required from Grand Canyon National Park to float this section of the river.
Camping is limited to 14 days.
Camping is permitted in designated areas only. There are six designated areas, marked with signs, on a first-come first-served basis. Upriver campsites are provided with toilets and fire pits. All campsites are located well above the river and require a short walk from your boat. This is to prevent camps from being damaged due to high water releases, such as those that occurred in the summer of 1983.
Fires are permitted only in the fireplaces provided or in portable fire pans. No ground fires are allowed. If portable fire pans are used, all burned charcoal must be carried out. Collection of wood is prohibited.
Carry out all litter and garbage. There is no regular garbage collection upriver. Plastic litter bags are available free of charge at the ranger station. Dumpsters are available at the launch ramps for garbage disposal.
Federal law prohibits the disturbance, defacement, or removal of historic or archeological sites. Do not deface rocks and cliffs. Do not disturb plants or animals, and do not feed wildlife.
There are no fees or permits required to camp upriver. Entrance fees and vessel use fees apply.
Did You Know?
Personal watercraft are vessels. In Utah, you must be 18 years old to operate a personal watercraft alone (unless you comply with Utah personal watercraft operator conditions); in Arizona, you must be at least 12.