Fredericksburg Battlefield Visitor Center
The Fredericksburg Battlefield Visitor Center was built in 1936 as a Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) project to provide an office for Fredericksburg & Spotsylvania National Military Park. It later became the visitor center for the Fredericksburg portion of the park. Today it consists of two floor of exhibits and one floor of offices for park historians. A 22 minute film is shown in the auditorium at a cost of $2 for those aged 10-61, $1 for those over 61 and free for those under 10.
Drums played an important role in Civil War battles. In situations where the dim of combat drown out human voices, drums were a simple and effective way to communicate orders instantaneously over a wide area.
Shown here is the drum of the 28th Massachusetts Volunteer Regiment of the Irish Brigade that may have been carried in the Battle of Fredericksburg.
Carl Rochling (1855-1920)was commissioned by Colonel Charles H.T. Collis, commander of the 114th Pennsylvania to depict a scene in the Battle of Fredericksburg. Colonel Collis is shown galloping to the front, seizing a regimental flag, and rallying his troops. Collis won the Medal of Honor for this effort.
Fredericksburg Battlefield Bookstore
Behind the visitor center is a bookstore
operated by an organization known as Eastern National. Visitors can purchase a wide variety of educational items including books, magazines, maps, brochures, and videos to help them understand the battle and the war.
Interior of Fredericksburg Battlefield Bookstore