Fort Moultrie to Honor Armed Forces day with "Soldiers through The Ages" Program
Contact: Bill Martin, (843) 883-3123 x 11
On Saturday, May 19, 2012, Fort Moultrie will present Soldiers Through The Ages, a living history event from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Re-enactors will portray soldiers of the major periods of Fort Moultrie's history from the Revolution¬ary War through World War II. Visitors can attend a variety of programs including the progression of uniforms from 1776-1947, historic weapons demonstrations, children's musket programs, drills and garrison duties. Programs will start at 10:00 a.m. with the final presentation ending at 4:00 p.m.
There have been three forts called Moultrie at this site on Sullivan's Island since 1776. The first fort, built of palmetto logs and sand, is the site of the first decisive Patriot victory of the American Revolution on June 28, 1776. Abandoned and in disrepair after the war, a new fort was constructed in 1798. The second Fort Moultrie was destroyed by an 1804 hurricane. The current Fort Moultrie was completed in 1809 and was an active military fortification until 1947.
Today Fort Moultrie is administered by the National Park Service as a unit of Fort Sumter National Monument. Located at 1214 Middle Street, Sullivan's Island, South Carolina, the fort and visitor center are open daily from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. except for New Year's, Thanksgiving, and Christmas Days. For more information, call (843) 883-3123.
Did You Know?
The incomplete palmetto-log fort used by Patriots during the June 28, 1776 battle of Sullivan's Island had no official name. Called Fort Sullivan by the British, the fort was later named Fort Moultrie in honor of its commander, Colonel William Moultrie. Fort Sumter National Monument, SC