Bridge Repair Work
Beginning September 15, the main bridge into the fort will be closed for repairs. Visitors will be able to access the fort through the sally port entrance. An accessible ramp will be available upon request. Visit the Willett Center for assistance on-site.
Student Journals and Cell Forts on Display at Fort Stanwix
Contact: Valerie Morgan, 315-336-4448
Once again, science, history, and English language arts unite through the creative minds of Vernon-Verona-Sherrill (VVS) Middle School students! Throughout the Marinus Willett Center, visitors will discover fictional journals based on American Revolutionary War experiences written by these young creative minds. Models, comparing cell structures to military fortifications, are also on display. Learn how closely the structure of cell compares to the key features of a fort. Plan to visit soon to see these works of art and thoughtful engineering. The projects will only be on display through March 2, 2014.
The park and VVS has partnered since 2004 to display the great work of our area’s young scholars. The bi-annual event is just one of the many ways Fort Stanwix National Monument works to bring history alive for students and the community.
Fort Stanwix National Monument is open Wednesday through Sunday from 9 am to 5 pm. Admission to the park is free. Activities are ongoing unless noted. For more information about upcoming events please call the park at (315)338-7730. Please visit the park’s web page at www.nps.gov/fost for additional information about the park and up-to-date news about park events.
Did You Know?
The modern New York State flag was modeled after the regimental flag of the Third New York. This flag was given to these troops as a gift by Col. Peter Gansevoort for their service during the Siege of Fort Stanwix in 1777. Photo courtesy of Sons of the Revolution, Virginia Society More...