Ranger-guided tours of the Dungeness Historic District are conducted daily and begin at Dungeness Dock at approximately 10:00am and 12:45pm. Each tour lasts about an hour and covers about one mile in distance and concludes at the restroom and picnic area. The tour route does not make a loop so visitors are free to explore additional areas on their own after the tour. Self-guided trail maps are also available at the boat house.
"Lands and Legacies" Tour
Join Park staff for a five to six hour motorized tour of the North End of the island. Stops will include both natural and cultural sites including Plum Orchard and the Settlement. Visitors will need to arrive on the 9:00 a.m. ferry and should read the FAQ. Reservations should be made by calling (912)-882-4335. Additional cost.
"Plum Orchard" Tour
Visit an early 1900s home that echoes memories of the Carnegie families. This 22,000 square foot home offers a glimpse of times gone by.
There are many ways for visitors to enjoy Plum Orchard. By traveling eight miles by foot or bike, visitors can tour the home when volunteer caretakers are in residence. Ask the Sea Camp Ranger for details.
Visitors participating in the day long Lands and Legacies tour will also stop and tour Plum Orchard.
A daily 30 minute program is presented at 4:00 p.m. at the Sea Camp Ranger Station. The programs highlight a variety of cultural and natural history topics and are often seasonal.
Just For Kids
The summer schedule offers a Just for Kids program at 2:00 p.m. Check at the Sea Camp Ranger Station for details; Kids will learn about Cumberland Island from a kids point of view. Programs start after Memorial Day and will run through Labor Day Monday.
Did You Know?
On March 25, 1818 General Henry “Light Horse Harry” Lee III, the father of General Robert E. Lee, died at "Dungeness", owned then by Nathaniel Greene’s daughter Louisa. Gen. Lee was buried in the same little cemetery as Louisa's mother, Catherine, but in 1913 his remains were moved to Lexington, VA.