Visitor Center Summer Hours in Effect Beginning May 1, 2014
Summer hours are in effect for the visitor center from May 1 - October 12, 2014 from 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. The hikers' shuttle will leave the visitor center at 9 am. For more information call 520-824-3560 0. More »
Entrance and Camping Fees Waived this Summer
From June 1 through September 30, all entrance fees will be waived and federal lands passes will not be available for purchase at the park. More »
Mushroom Rock Trail Closed to Horses, Hikers Use Caution
Mushroom Rock Trail is closed to horses due to hazardous conditions caused by recent flooding. Hikers use caution. Trail is washed out in place and may be difficult to follow.
Bonita Canyon Drive
Making a gradual climb through oak, cypress, and pine forests, this 8-mile paved drive winds to Massai Point, a perfect place for a picnic. The overlook has a 360-degree view of Rhyolite Canyon, adjacent valleys, and surrounding mountain peaks. Massai Nature Trail is a .5 mile loop trail which allows you to discover the geologic story of the park. A stop at the exhibit building along the nature trail provides additional park information. The drive provides access to Bonita Canyon Campground, multiple pullouts to enjoy the scenery, and trailheads to the 17 miles of day-use hiking trails.
Wilderness and Hiking Trails
Silver Spur Meadown trailhead: Hike from the visitor center to Faraway Ranch Historic District to discover the human activity in the Chiricahua Mountains.
Natural Bridge trailhead: Access the Natural Bridge Trail from Bonita Canyon Drive for the 2.4-mile, one-way hike.
From the Echo Canyon trailhead: Access trails to explore the rock formations in the park.
Sugarloaf Trailhead: This .9- mile, one-way trail climbs over 450 feet in elevation to the top of Sugarloaf Mountain. A historic fire lookout tower can be discovered at the end of the trail.
Hiking with Pets
Faraway Ranch Historic District
Did You Know?
Civilian Conservation Corps enrollees of NM-2-A, Company 828, were stationed at Chiricahua National Monument from 1934-1940. The men improved the scenic drive, created the hiking trails, and built most of the structures in use today.