• Visitors enjoying a stroll along Canaveral National Seashore's pristine beach

    Canaveral

    National Seashore Florida

There are park alerts in effect.
show Alerts »
  • BOARDWALK CLOSURE AT PLAYALINDA

    Boardwalk #3 at Playalinda is closed for repair/replacement. This closure will be remain in effect for up to 8 weeks.

Permits

Special Park Use Permits

Special Park Use Permits are required for short-term activities that take place in the park area which:

• Provide a benefit to an individual, group or organization, rather than the public at large;

• Require written authorization and some degree of management control from the NPS in order to protect park resources and the public interest;

• Are not prohibited by law or regulation

Supplemental information for Wedding Permit Applicants:

• Group size limits & authorized event locations (more)
• Advance payment of your guest's entrance fees (more)

The following information pertains to all Special Park Use permit applicants: It is important that your application be as detailed as possible concerning your proposed activity. We must know the specific type of event, desired time and location, equipment (including vehicles), total number of participants (including contractors) and any special needs you may have. Also, when identifying the desired park location for your event, please specify the park district (Apollo Beach or Playalinda Beach) you wish to hold your event in. As an example, to clearly identify the desired location for an event, you should write, "Apollo Beach by parking area #1", in the preferred location section of the application.

The information on the application will be used by National Park Service staff to evaluate the impact of your event on park resources and other visitors. A $150 non-refundable processing fee is required with your application. In addition, exclusive park staff services may be required, at a cost of $50 per hour, per person, depending on the scope and size of the proposed activity. Liability insurance may also be required. Payment of fees shall be via money order or bank draft made payable to the National Park Service. Do Not Mail Cash. For additional information contact our permit coordinator at 321-267-1110.

Special Park Use Application Form


*** ATTENTION COMMERCIAL HARVESTERS & FISHING GUIDES ***

Monthly Catch Log Submissions Are Required (even if you were not engaged in commercial fishing activity during the reporting month)

Catch logs are required because harvest data is needed to manage sustainable aquatic populations. On your logs, please record hours fished in each area even if no fish were caught. We ask that you record number of people fishing/harvesting, including guides or assistants who are actively fishing. Our Resource Management team greatly appreciates your cooperation.

Letter to Commercial Fishing Guides & Harvestors from CANA Resource Manager, dated March 11, 2009 (
read here)

Catch Log Forms:
MSWord PDF

Please submit your monthly catch log report each month, via mail, fax, in person, or by email to: candace_carter@nps.gov

Mailing address
: Canaveral National Seashore, 212 S. Washington Avenue, Titusville, FL 32796
Fax number: (321) 264-2906

*** PLEASE DO NOT SUBMIT A YEAR'S WORTH OF MONTHLY REPORTS ***


Commercial Use Authorizations (FISHING GUIDES)

Attention CUA Permittees: Commercial Use Authorization Survey reports for calendar year 2013 were due no later than Jan 31, 2014. If you had a valid CUA permit during any portion of 2013, and did not submit your report by the due date, you have violated your permit conditions. In such cases, your eligibility for permit renewal will be strictly at the discretion of the Superintendent.
**** (See regulation #17 - "Regulations Specific to Commercial Fishing Guides & Vessels")

Permit Instructions & Application .......... Commercial Use Authorization Survey .......... Current Permit Holders

A complete new application is required when you renew your permit. If you submit your application by mail, make sure you include all pages of the application. Please check expiration dates on all of your licenses & registration documents to ensure they are the current versions, as receipt of expired or missing license/registration documents remains the most frequent reason for processing delays.

Checks or money orders made payable to the "National Park Service" are acceptable forms of payment for your permit. Your social security number is required when paying by check or money order. You may also pay with cash at our headquarters office, although the exact amount will be required, as we do not have change-making capability.

CUA permits are valid for 12 months from the date your application is signed by the agency approving authority.

The Commercial Use Authorization Survey Form is used to report gross annual revenue derived from actual trips into Canaveral National Seashore, for which a Commercial Use Authorization permit was required. Failure to submit this annual report by January 31st violates the terms of your permit, and may result in your renewal application being disapproved.


Commercial Harvesting

Commercial Harvesting Permits are valid from October 1st through Septemer 30th. The cost for the permit is $150. A permit is required for each individual engaged in the commercial harvesting of clams, crabs, fish, oysters, shrimp and bait fish within the boundaries of Canaveral National Seashore and/or Merritt Island Wildlife Refuge. Commercial Harvesting Permits may NOT be used for Commercial Guide Services.

2014 Application & Instructions ............... Zone Map ............... Catch Log


Commercial Photography & Filming Permits
The beauty of the pristine beaches within Canaveral National Seashore has provided location for a variety of films, commercials, and print advertisements.

If you are planning to do any filming or photography involving talent, products or props in front of a camera, you will need to obtain a filming permit. All permit applications are reviewed on a case-by-case basis, and will not normally be issued for areas of high visitation or on weekends. Please contact (321) 267-1110 for further information and location fees.

Short Form Filming Application Long Form Filming Application

Insurance Requirements


Backcountry Permits

Backcountry permits are $2.00 per day, per person, and may be obtained at the entrance station. These permits provide single day access to the backcountry beach area between Playalinda & Apollo Beaches.


Horsebackriding (A permit & valid coggins is required in addition to entrance fee) [more]


 

Did You Know?

Sea turtle hatchlings making their way back to the sea

That temperature determines the sex of sea turtle hatchlings? Females are hatched in the top, or warmer part of the nest, and males in the lower, or cooler part.