ORV Plan Comment Period Extended
On May 23, 2014, the NPS released a Environmental Impact Statement for its Off-Road Vehicle Management Plan for a 60-day comment period, which was extended to September 4. The comment period will be extend an additional 15 days until September 19, 2014.
Safety Training Requirement of North Carolina ATV Law Becomes Effective October 1, 2006
Contact: Barry Munyan, 252-728-2250 ext. 3034
Harkers Island, North Carolina. Superintendent Bob Vogel would like to alert all-terrain vehicle (ATV) users, especially those planning to visit Cape Lookout National Seashore, of the safety training requirement of the North Carolina ATV law, which reads as follows:
In addition to the North Carolina ATV law, Cape Lookout National Seashore also requires that anyone operating an ATV in the park be at least 16 years of age and be in possession of a valid driver's license.
The ATV RiderCourse is currently the only safety course approved by the ATV Safety Institute. For more information on safety courses being offered in your area, contact the ATV Safety Institute at (800) 887-2887. Park Rangers will check all ATV operators at the seashore that appear to be born after the above date to assure they have an ATV RiderCourse completion certificate. Park Rangers will also continue to enforce all the other aspects of the North Carolina ATV law.
The North Carolina ATV Law took effect on December 1, 2005. Links to the North Carolina ATV Law and seashore ATV regulations can be found on the seashore web site at http://www.nps.gov/archive/calo/ATVregs.htm. Questions about the ATV law can also be directed to any Law Enforcement Park Ranger, or by calling the Cape Lookout National Seashore Headquarters at (252) 728-2250.
Did You Know?
Diamond City, a community that once stood on the eastern end of Shackleford Banks, was named after the daymark pattern on the nearby Cape Lookout Lighthouse. Cape Lookout National Seashore