Cape Point Campground Remains Closed
Contact: Outer Banks Group, 252-473-2111
Superintendent Mike Murray announced today that Cape Point Campground will have a delayed opening this season due to recent heavy rains, standing water and saturated ground conditions. The status of the campground will be reassessed next week and will open when conditions improve.
Oregon Inlet and Frisco campgrounds are currently open and the fee is $20 per site/per night; Ocracoke Campground is currently open and the fee is $23 per night. Ocracoke is the only National Park Service campground on the Outer Banks where visitors can make advanced reservations. Reservations for Ocracoke can be made by calling 1-877-444-6777 or on the Internet at www.recreation.gov. Campsites at Oregon Inlet and Frisco campgrounds are assigned on a first come first served basis. Holders of the Golden Age or Golden Access passes, or the new Interagency Senior or Access passes, will receive a 50% discount on their camp site.
All campgrounds at Cape Hatteras National Seashore accommodate tents, trailers, and motor homes no longer than 35 feet. Each campground provides rest rooms, potable water, unheated showers, cooking grills, and picnic tables, but no utility connections are available. Group camping is available at Oregon Inlet Campground. Fees for groups are $4.00 per person per night (for groups of 7 - 30 people) including infants and toddlers. The group camping reservation number is 252-441-0882 and reservations must be made at least two weeks in advance. No more than 6 persons and 2 vehicles may occupy a single campsite. Pop-up campers are considered vehicles. Parking space for extra vehicles is very limited and therefore arrangements to park your extra vehicle outside the park must be made in advance or rent an additional campsite. Camp sites may be occupied for no more than 14 consecutive days. Generators may not be operated between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. Camping in Cape Hatteras National Seashore is permitted only in designated campgrounds.
Did You Know?
When the Home sank on Diamond Shoals off of Cape Hatteras in 1837, there were only two life jackets for all 130 people on board. Ninety people died. Congress passed the Steamboat Act the next year, requiring all vessels to carry one life jacket per passenger.