Boston Harbor Islands Partnership

The Boston Harbor Islands Partnership represents a range of federal, state, city, and nonprofit agencies. The Partnership coordinates the activities of the managers of the islands in the development and implementation of a management plan for their islands and the national park as a whole.

The Partnership was established as a federal operating committee by the park enabling legislation. Each year the Partnership elects a chairperson and vice-chairperson. Among their leadership duties are calling and presiding over meetings and appointing committees. Bylaws guide the Boston Harbor Islands Partnership.

» Boston Harbor Islands Partnership Charter (PDF)
» Boston Harbor Islands Partnership Bylaws (PDF)
» Partnership Organizational Model (PDF)
» Partnership Influences Chart (PDF)

Twelve members are appointed by the Secretary of the Interior, one member is appointed by the Commandant of Coast Guard. The member organizations are represented by voting partners and voting alternates.

logo - National Park Service
National Park Service
logo - Unites States Coast Guard

United States Coast Guard


Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation

  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • Samantha Overton - voting alternate
  • Susan Kane - voting alternate
logo - Massachusetts Port Authority

Massachusetts Port Authority

logo- Massachusetts Water Resources Authority

Massachusetts Water Resources Authority

logo - City of Boston

City of Boston

Boston Redevelopment Authority Logo

Boston Redevelopment Authority

Thompson Island Outward Bound Education Center Logo (cropped)
Thompson Island Outward Bound Education Center
The Trustees of Reservations logo

The Trustees of Reservations

BHIA Logo xsmall

Boston Harbor Island Alliance

Boston Harbor Islands Logo

Boston Harbor Islands Advisory Council

  • Maureen Cavanaugh
  • Charles R. Norris
  • Elizabeth Solomon - voting alternate
  • Rob Moir - voting alternate, appointment pending


Did You Know?