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Before your first hunting trip to Big Thicket National Presemve, read thezs regulationz. Study the map of the
Preserve unit provided with thiz guide. Know the areas where you may hunt, and the areas where you may not
hunt. Statz of Texas hunting season dates and regulations apply except where the following Big Thicket National
Preserve Regulations are more restrictive (Title 36 Code of Federal Regulations).

Violations of State Law, Federal Law, andior these regulations may result in a fine
andlor the suspension or permanent loss of your hunting privileges. [36CFR 1.6(h]]

Before you l=ave on your hunting o, please inform a relative or friend of your intended point of entry, route of
travel, and tme of return. While hunting, dress appropriately for changing weather conditions and carry &
fliashlight, compass, first zid kit, maps, and watzr. Do not cross or park on private property without the consent of
the landowner.

Hunting Regulations

The hunting seazon within the Big Thicket Nabonal Preserve exiends from the opening date of the State
of Texas fall archery-only season through the second Sunday in January. The extended hog-only
seazon extends from January 12, 2009, untl February 28, 2009, You may only hunt deer duning the
dates establishad by the State of Taxas for the archery-only 22ason and the desr gun 22azon. The
spring hunting season is not observed in the Big Thicket National Preserve. Big Thicket National
Freserve observes all yvouth hunts that fall within the Preserve hunting season. Hunting at any other
time or in any other manner than prescribed in this 2=t of regulations is peohibited. [3I6CFR 1.6(g)(2);

36CFR 1.6(h); 36CFR 7.85(a)(1)]

The followng tems must be in your possession while hunting in the Preserve; a current Big Thicket
Hunting Permit; a State of Texas Hunting Licenze; a Dinver's License or an officizl personal identification
certificate izzued by 3 State department of public safety or similar State agency authorized to issue 3
driver's licenze; appropriate State and/or Federal stamps; and a Texas Hunter Safety Course
Certification {if required). All hunters who are Age 17 and older and whose date of birth iz on or after
Septermber 2, 1971, must have successfully completed the Texas Hunter Safety Course to hunt in the
State of Texas. All hunters who zre Age 12 through 18 must have successfully completed a hunter
education course or be accompanied by & licensed hunter 17 years of age or older. Al hunters who are

under 12 years of age must ke accompanied by a lcensed permitted hunter 17 vears of age or older.
[36CFR 7.85(c); 36CFR 1.6(g)(1); 36CFR 1.6(h)]

If 2 hunter will be 13 years of age by October 1, 2008, helshe must have a permit. Hunters who are 12
years of age or younger on this date are not required to have a permit, but they must be in the
immediate contral of a licensed permitted hunter Age 17 or older. [36CFR 1.6(g)(2); 3I6CFR 1.6(h)]

Each hunter must place 2 copy of the Big Thicket Hunting Permit on the dashboard of the vehicle from
which helshe 1s hunting so that it can be read from outside the vehicle. Hunters who will be hunting in
the Neches Bottom and Jack Gore Bayaall Unit and Beaumant Unit hunting areas will be issued a
spacial boat permit. This permit must be left in the boat from which they are hunfing in a wateroroof
contamer attached to the vessel in plain view. [36CFR 1.6(g)(2); 36CFR 1.6(h)]

The Big Thicket Hunting Permit entiles you to take only white-tiled deer, squirrel, rabbit, feral hog, and
watzrfowl. [36CFR 7.85(a)(2){); 36CFR 7.85(a)(2) (il
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Only 17 and .22 caliber rim fire cartridgs rifles (small game and hogs only), shotguns, muzzle-loading
rfles, and bow and arrows are allowed. Big Thicket National Preserve adopts the State of Texas
defirition of ‘muzzleloadar” [36CFR 1.6(g)(2); 36CFR 1.6(h); 36CFR T.85(d)(1)]

Slugs and buckshot may be posseszed and/or used only during the deer gun season and the exiended
hog only z=azon. [36CFR 1.6(g)(2)]; 36CFR 1.6(h]]

‘Mo person, while hunting waterfow! anywhere in the State, may possess shotgun shellz containing lead
shot or loose lead shot for use in muzzleloaders. Approved shot, includes steel, including copper, nickel
or zinc coated steel. bismuth-tn, tungsten-iron, tunosten-polymer (.e., molyshot), and any other non-
tooac material approved by the Director of the United States Figh and Wildlife Service”

[36CFR 1.6(g)(2); 36CFR 1.6(h)]

All handguns and center-fire rifles are prohibited. [36CFR 1.6(g)2); 36CFR 1.6(h)] Concealed weapons
are prohibited within the Freserve. [36CFR 2.4(a)(1)]

Firearmz must be unloaded (empty chamber and maogazing) whils crozsing a “closed area” to reach 2
“hunting area” [36CFR 1.6(g)(2); 36CFR 1.6{h)] All weapons must be unloaded and unavailable for
immediatz uz= (rendered temporanly inoperable or packed, cazed, or stored) whils traveling in a vehiclz
or boat. [36CFR 2.4{a)(3)]

. The possession of a weapon is prohibited at night (from 1 hour after sunset to 1 hour before sunnse).

This includes firzarms in vehicles and boatz. [36CFR 7.95(d)(2)]

. Crossbows are allowed in accordance with State of Texas Regulations. 36CFR 1.6(g)(2); 36CFR 1.6(h)]

. Poszassion or consumption of an alcoholic beverage whils in 3 unit open to hunting is prohibited.

[36CFR 2.35(a)(3(i)]

. Feeding or baiting of wildlife iz prohibited. [36CFR 2.1(a)(2)]; [30CFR 2.2(a)(2)]
. The use or possession of doags for hunfing is prohibited. [36CFR 7.85(2)(3)]

. Hunter Orange or Intemational Crange must be worn and wisible at all tmes while hunting in the

Preserve. All hunters are required to wear 2 minimum of 400 square inches of Hunter Orange or
International Orangs while in designated hunting areas. The exception is wateriowl hunters when
stationary in their waterfowl blinds. [36CFR 1.6(g)(2); 36CFR 1.6(h)]

You may hunt n the “hunfing area” a5 shown on the enclosed unit map; however, you may not hunt
within 500 fzet of any designated trail, roadway, residence, or any navigable waterway (Neches River,
Fine lzland Bayou, andior LNVA Canal). [36CFR 1.6{g)(2); 36CFR 1.6(h]]

Portakle deer stands or blinds may be used, but they must be removed each day. [36CFR 7.85(a)(4)]
Construction or use of permanent stands, blinds, or other structures 1z prohibited. [36CFR 7.85(a)(4);
[36CFR 5.7] Deer stand= may not penetrata the bark of the tree. [36CFR 210 1)(0)] You are required
to label your portable deer ztand with your name, address, and telephone number. The Preserve wil
confiscate unmarked and/or unattended deer stands. [36CFR 1.6(g)(2); 36CFR 1.6(h)]

. Flagging, any marking device, or any other method of marking iz prohibited.

[36CFR 1.6(g)(2); 36CFR 1.6(h)]




Cutting and'or removal of vesetation for the creation of shooting lanes, hunting binds, ar for any
other reason are prohibited. Machetes, axes, saws, or other types of cuting/chopping devices are

orohibited. [36CFR 2. 1(a)(1)(i))]; [36CFR 1.6(g)(2)] (36CFR 1.6(h)

Carry out all trash, including empty shotoun shells. Only field dressing of game iz allowed within the
Preserve. [I6CFR 2.14(a)(1)]

Human waste must be burned at least 100 feet from any read, trail, or creek. [36CFR 2.14(a) (9)]
Camping iz prohibited m hunting areas. [36CFR 2.10(a)]

In estaklished hunting areas, portable cooking stoves ars permitted; ground fires are prohibited.
[36CFR 2.13(a)(1)]

Park vehicles along roads or in designated parking areas. Do not block gates or roads.
[36CFR 4.13(a)]

Off-road use of motonzed vehicles, ncluding all terrain vehicles (ATV's) and motoroycles, is
orohibited. [36CFR 4.10(a)]

Your permit is valid from the opening date of the State of Texas fall archery-only seasen through tha last
day of the extendad hog hunting season which is February 248, 2009, You may enly hunt deer during the
dates astablishad by the State of Texas for the archery-only season and the deer gqun seasaon.

Big Thicket Mational Preserve observes all youth hunts that fall within the Preserve hunting season. To
abtain a hurting permit for the following year, you must reapply during hunter registration. Your
"Hunter's Report” card must be returned by April 7, 2009, or you will be disqualified from obtaining a
permit next yaar,

If you have hunting questions, contact Preserve Headquarters at (4049) 951-6831. If you have amy other
questions, contact the Preserve Visitor Center at (409) 951-6725.

If you have questions about State of Texas Regulations, contact the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
at either 1(B00) 792-1112, select menu option 5 then 1, or (4049) 852-8666 (local law enforcemant).

Toreport a crime or any emergency, contact our park watch number at 1 (300) Big Thicket or 12000 T03-6565.
I your permit is either lost or stolen, please contact Presarve headguarters immediately.

The Big Sandy Horse Trail is closed from the opening day of the fall archery-only season until February 28, 2008,

Information on campgrounds located near Big Thickst National Prezerve can ke oblained by contacting the Preserve Vieitor

Center at (409) 951-6725.

Have a zafe and pleasant hunting experience. Remember that the Preserve is not a hunting lzase but is a Mational Pressrve
and, 33 such, is used by the general public during hunting season. Praclice courtesy and safely at all times. This will provide
& pleasant experience for you, other hunters, and the general pulhc.

How does a Preserve differ from a Mational Park® By special permit. sustainable use of some
resources (e.g. fish, wildlife, oil and gas) is authorized in a Preserve to protect both the cultural legacy of
the region and the natural heritage of our nation.
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