• Great Kiva with Walls of West Ruin

    Aztec Ruins

    National Monument New Mexico

Getting Ready for 2016

The National Park Service turns 100 on August 25, 2016. To us, it's not about cakes and candles — it's about being an organization ready to take on the challenges of our second century. Our blueprint to get there — A Call to Action — outlines the innovative work we want to accomplish. Aztec Ruins National Monument is a big part of this effort. Take a look at what we're doing locally and get involved!


Showing Results 6- 8 of 8

  • New Partnership Trail Makes Getting to Aztec Ruins a Walk in the Park

    Children in river at approximate location of new pedestrian bridge

    Aztec Ruins and the City of Aztec are working together to provide better access to the park for local residents. A new pedestrian and bicycle trail will run from the city's historic downtown into the monument. The trail project includes interpretive waysides and a new pedestrian bridge across the Animas River. Read more

  • Rangers Give a Hundred More Programs in Local Schools

    Three students and a ranger after playing the shinny stick game.

    Aztec Ruins has dramatically expanded its educational outreach by providing innovative curriculum-based programs and adopting a class of 2016. Read more

  • Teaching Ancestral Pueblo Agriculture at New Demonstration Garden

    Demonstration Garden

    The Aztec Ruins National Monument 2012 Demonstration Garden offers an active, living interpretation of ancestral Pueblo crops and techniques. By involving local youth like the JROTC cadets, we are immersing future stewards into learning local history and ancient cultural adaptations. We are also inviting educators, visitors, and community members to participate in interpreting the rich history of ancestral Pueblo subsistence and food production. Read more

Did You Know?

Acoma Dancers

Descendants of the ancestral Pueblos at Aztec Ruins include the Hopi in Arizona, and the 19 Rio Grande Pueblos of New Mexico: Taos, Picuris, Sandia, Isleta, San Juan, Santa Clara, San Ildefonso, Nambe, Tesuque, Jemez, Cochiti, Pojoaque, Santo Domingo, San Felipe, Santa Ana, Zia, Laguna, Acoma, and Zuni.