The McLean House front porch is closed, but the house remains open.
The front porch of the McLean House is being renovated requiring entry into the house through the back door.
Appomattox 1865 Foundation Observes Arbor Day
Appomattox 1865 Foundation
Sue Cochrane, Board Member
Eileen Huffman, PR Manager
APPOMATTOX 1865 FOUNDATION OBSERVES ARBOR DAY
Friends Group Members and Volunteers Plant Treesat Appomattox Court House National Historical Park
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (May 1, 2012): APPOMATTOX COUNTY, VA;
The Appomattox 1865 Foundation observed Arbor Day on Saturday, April 28 at Appomattox Court House National Historical Park by planting two dozen trees and shrubs. Both foundation members and volunteers from the Appomattox Central Virginia Community College Center joined forces to begin a targeted landscaping project.
"This is one of the 'top ten' projects identified by the friends group," said Sue Cochrane, Board Member and Foundation Secretary. "The trees that were planted here today are part of a long-term landscaping plan designed to further the visitor's authentic experience at the park. We are proud of our members and grateful to the volunteers who helped us today," she continued. "Partnering for projects such as this demonstrates close cooperation between the National Park Service and our valued friends groups," added Reed Johnson, Superintendent of Appomattox Court House National Historical Park.
The mission of the Appomattox 1865 Foundation is to enrich the understanding and appreciation of the heritage and significance of Appomattox Court House National Historical Park. The foundation focuses on education efforts to preserve the past, augment support, commemorate history and enhance the visitor's experience at the park. The group is actively seeking members with many levels of membership available. If you would like to become a "friend" or to learn more about our organization, please contact us at email@example.com, call 434-664-7259 or VISIT OUR NEW WEBSITE www.appomattox1865foundation.org.
# # #
Did You Know?
In the week between evacuating Richmond on April 2nd and arriving in Appomattox on April 8th, Lee’s Confederate forces lost half their numbers, from roughly 60,000 men to about 30,000.