Pathways Programs

Pathways Logo


On December 27, 2010, The President signed Executive Order 13562, “Recruiting and Hiring Students and Recent Graduates”. The Executive Order established the Pathways Program which is aimed at providing clear paths to internships and careers in the Federal Government for students and recent graduates. This Program consists of three excepted-service programs, the Internship Program, the Recent Graduates Program, and a reinvigorated Presidential Management Fellows (PMF) Program. On May 11, 2012 the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) issued the final regulations to implement the Pathways Programs which were made effective on July 10, 2012.

Follow the links below to learn more about the components of the Pathways Programs:

Internship Program
This program is targeted towards students enrolled in a wide variety of educational institutions; and offers them opportunities to work with the National Park Service and explore careers while completing their education. It replaces the Student Career Experience Program (SCEP) and Student Temporary Employment Program (STEP).

Recent Graduates Program
This program targets recent graduates of trade and vocational schools, community colleges, universities, and other qualifying educational institutions.

Presidential Management Fellows
For more than three decades, the PMF program has been the Federal government’s premier leadership development program for advance degree candidates. The Executive Order expands the eligibility window for applicants, making it more “student friendly” by aligning it with academic calendars and including those who have received a qualifying advanced degree within the preceding two years.

If you are interested in working with the National Park Service through the Internship or Recent Graduates Program please visit USAJOBS, where we post new opportunities for the Internship and Recent Graduate Programs. For additional information on how to apply for the Presidential Management Fellows Program please visit the OPM PMF website.

Additional Resources:

For additional information, please contact the Pathways Coordinator in your region:

Alaska Region Northeast Region Southeast Region Southeast Region Midwest Region Intermountain Region Pacific West Region Pacific West Region
Pacific West
(PWR)
Inter-
mountain
(IMR)
Midwest
(MWR)
Southeast
(SER)
Northeast
(NER)
Alaska
(AKR)
PWR
SER
National Capital Region

Region Coordinator Name(s) E-mail
Alaska Region Cherilyn Alexander cherilyn_alexander@nps.gov
Intermountain Region Mara Spicer
Krista Schuster
mara_spicer@nps.gov
krista_schuster@nps.gov
Midwest Region Gail Purifoy
Charlotte Lussier
Charlene Marsh
gail_purifoy@nps.gov
charlotte_lussier@nps.gov
charlene_marsh@nps.gov
National Capital Region Dafina Williams
Kim Brown
dafina_williams@nps.gov
kim_d_brown@nps.gov
Northeast Region Edward (Charley) Ansty charley_ansty@nps.gov
Pacific West Region Karin Nichols
Susan Mical
karin_nichols@nps.gov
susan_mical@nps.gov
Southeast Region Larissa Estlow
James (Trey) Coggins
larissa_estlow@nps.gov
james_coggins@nps.gov
Washington Office Makeba Coleman
Claudia (Patty) Oliva
makeba_coleman@nps.gov
claudia_oliva@nps.gov

Did You Know?